8 Stages of Yoga for Health and Well Being

Vritika Jhunjhunwala

"Yoga" means union that brings an incoherent and scattered mind to a reflective state for communion of the human soul with divinity. It ensures optimal condition of every aspect of life, be it body, mind, energy or soul. Let's explore in brief the eight stages of Yoga that promise not only health, but answers to all imaginable existential predicaments of the human mind. Yoga is not only for India, it belongs to the world!

1. Yama is the first stage that purifies the mind with great vows of non-violence, truth, non-stealing, continence and non-covetousness. This is essential to avoid doubt and restlessness of the mind before progressing to further demanding levels of practice.

2. Niyama are rules for purity, contentment, austerity, study of the scriptures and surrender to a higher power. These virtues calm the disturbed mind, make one cheerful and enhance mental power to discipline the senses.

3. Asanas are achieving perfection in posture and flexibility of the human body through performing certain poses and postures and pushing the limitations of the body each time. Asanas bring health, beauty, strength, firmness, lightness, clarity of speech and expression, calmness of nerves and a happy disposition.

4. Pranayama is conscious regulation of breath through different exercises that bring the mind and senses under control. Yogis believe that the breath is the key to our thoughts and they worked endlessly on different techniques of inhalation and exhalation to achieve perfect steadiness of the wavering mind.

5. Pratyahara is the subtle technique of disciplining our thoughts as yogis fully understood the dangers of an untamed and uncultured mind. Since the mind affects the quality of our lives, this practice quiets the senses and draws them inward in order to find a space of inner peace and tranquility.

6. Dharana is concentration on a single point, or total attention on what one is doing, the mind remaining unmoved and unruffled. It stimulates inner awareness to integrate ever-flowing intelligence and release all tensions.

7. When Dharana continues for a long time, it becomes Dhyana or meditation, the seventh stage of Yoga. This is an indescribable state that has to be experienced to be understood.

8. When meditation is maintained without interruption, it merges into Samadhi where the practitioner loses consciousness of his body, breath, mind and ego. He lives in infinite peace and not only is he enlightened, but he illumines all those who come to him in search of truth.

It's quite apparent that Yoga is not just twisting the body into funny shapes or even meditating to calm the mind, it is the conclusive science of exploration of one's true nature and the end goal is not just Samadhi, but liberation. In this state, there is no fear, doubt or confusion, but pure happiness and contentment. Our purpose is to know ourselves, our true selves and immerse into the ocean of eternal love that flows, without exception, in every beating heart.

You are not a drop in the ocean; you are the entire ocean in a drop - Rumi


  1. The Indian Equator: Mark Twain's India Revisited, 2013, 111-25
  2. Light on Pranayama, 1981, 16-18
  3. The Essential Rumi, 1961
  4. Light on Yoga, 1966, 67-80
About the Author:

Vritika lives in India where she immersed herself in authentic principles of Yoga and meditation through intense study, reference reading and oral teaching. Having learnt and taught the benefits of meditation in modern life, she aims to bring peace and well being to people in innumerable ways demonstrated by Yogic wisdom. Her personal blog, https://mindfulnesswithin.wordpress.com/ is a culmination of her passion and efforts to promote the ancient science of Yoga in its purest form and highlights her love for Indian culture. Vritika also loves writing, photography, reading and is pursuing classical music.


Deborah Richards said...

Really a great addition. I have read this marvelous post. Thanks for sharing information about it. I really like that. Thanks so lot for your convene. Ajuga Turkestanica

Unknown said...

This is exceptionally elegantly composed and your focuses are very much communicated. Kindly, absolutely never quit composing.
guest articles

Hannan Aslam said...

It feels great to feature much revealing and unequalled articles on your websites. HealthEssential

Robert F. Crocker said...

Wow, cool post. I’d like to write like this too – taking time and real hard work to make a great article… but I put things off too much and never seem to get started. Thanks though. to sum up

Angela Piercy said...

Oh thank you very much! I found new tricks for me, thank you. Also i wanted to share with you one useful source. Here my friend found https://yogalifestyles.com/plant-based-protein-powder-review/ plant based protein powder reviews so I think about it will be intresting for you.

The Yoga Institute said...

A way to maintain a healthy mind and body is prenatal yoga. Prenatal yoga focuses on poses for pregnant women, in order to increase strength and flexibility. It also helps Yoga for pregnancy pregnant women to develop proper breathing and relaxation techniques for easier and more comfortable labor.

Nokia Hp said...

When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Many thanks! Click here

Life Extension said...

Nokia - sorry about that, sounds like there is a glitch. Does it only happen to you on this post?

Dailyyogaforlife said...

Thanks for the lovely post, I was only known about Asanas and Dharana. After reading your post now i was able to well-known about all 8 stages of yoga.
once again thanks.
Nepal Yoga Institute

Post a Comment

All Contents Copyright © 2019 Life Extension® All rights reserved.
Privacy Notice | Terms of Use
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
The information provided on this site is for informational purposes only and is not intended as a substitute for advice from your physician or other health care professional or any information contained on or in any product label or packaging. You should not use the information on this site for diagnosis or treatment of any health problem or for prescription of any medication or other treatment. You should consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet, exercise or supplementation program, before taking any medication, or if you have or suspect you might have a health problem. You should not stop taking any medication without first consulting your physician.